UAE Golden Visa for Real Estate: Ten Years of Status, Property Encumbrance, and New vs. Under-Construction
The UAE Golden Visa for real estate is issued for 10 years when holding property from AED 2,000,000 — approximately €470,000 at the Central Bank rate as of September 3, 2026. In exchange, the property is encumbered: the owner cannot dispose of it until the end of the status period, and Dubai's immigration authority states this condition directly.
What is the UAE Golden Visa and for how long is it issued
The UAE Golden Visa is a long-term residence permit valid for 5 or 10 years, requiring no sponsor and renewable if the basis for it persists. The name is unofficial: in regulatory documents, golden residency is called Golden Residence and becomes a "golden residence permit" only in translations.
The federal government portal of the UAE lists four properties of golden residency:
- a term of 5 or 10 years with renewal;
- no sponsor — whether an employer or a citizen of the country;
- the right to stay outside the UAE for longer than the usual six months without losing golden residency;
- the right to sponsor family members, including a spouse and children.
The last two points are the substantive difference from an ordinary residence permit. A holder of a short-term visa who leaves the country for more than 180 days loses the status; a holder of golden residency does not. For golden residency, Dubai's Directorate of Residency and Foreign Affairs states the exception directly: the status is cancelled only if its term expires while the holder is outside the country.
Myth: "the UAE Golden Visa is a residence permit that leads to citizenship." It does not. The status remains residential and tied to its basis, and does not transform into permanent residency through length of service. Naturalization in the UAE follows a separate procedure and requires a decision by the authorities.
Who is eligible for golden residency: six categories and their terms
Six categories of people can obtain UAE golden residency: investors, entrepreneurs, holders of rare specialties, outstanding students, humanitarian figures, and frontline medical professionals. The term of golden residency depends on the category, not the amount invested.
Below is a table of categories from the federal government portal of the UAE, retrieved September 3, 2026; the portal itself is marked with an update date of July 28, 2026.
| Category | Term | Main requirement |
|---|---|---|
| Investors in public investment | 10 years | capital from AED 2,000,000 |
| Investors in real estate | listed as 5 years | property ownership; see the section on the discrepancy in terms |
| Entrepreneurs | 5 years | confirmation of an innovative project and a letter from a business incubator |
| Exceptional talents and rare specialties | 10 years | physicians, scientists, inventors, cultural figures, executives, athletes, PhD holders |
| Outstanding students | 5 years — high school, 10 years — university | certificates of achievement and letters of recommendation |
| Humanitarian figures and frontline medical professionals | 10 years | confirmation of contribution or at least 5 years of experience |
A separate category is taxpayers: a contribution to the budget of AED 250,000 or more per year through a company also serves as a basis. For a real estate buyer from Russia, two categories have practical significance — an investor in real estate and, if over 55 years old, a retired property owner; the others require either a business in the country or professional recognition.
The AED 2,000,000 threshold: what exactly counts
The UAE Golden Visa for real estate requires property worth AED 2,000,000 — approximately €470,000 at the Central Bank rate as of September 3, 2026. In US dollars, the threshold is approximately $545,000. For golden residency, the threshold is calculated based on the purchase price at the time of acquisition and confirmed by a certificate from Dubai's Land Department on the property's status.
What counts toward the threshold and what does not, according to the emirate's immigration authority requirements:
- properties are aggregated — the threshold can be met with a single property or several properties in the applicant's name;
- a mortgage is allowed: a bank letter is required confirming the paid amount of AED 2,000,000 and the absence of objections to obtaining the status;
- a share in joint ownership is counted only if the share itself is not less than AED 2,000,000 — this is not the same as a property of such value;
- the valuation may be confirmed by an appraisal firm licensed by the Land Department;
- the applicant must be inside the country at the time of submission.
The third point is the costliest mistake in this area. Spouses who bought an apartment for AED 2,500,000 in joint ownership do not meet the ten-year threshold, either of them: each spouse's share is AED 1,250,000. For comparison, the two-year ownership route has a share threshold of AED 400,000 — five times lower than golden residency.
Myth: "the UAE Golden Visa is available from $136,000." This sum appears in the description of a page ranking third in Google for the main search query, and corresponds to approximately AED 500,000 — the former threshold of the three-year investor visa. The current real estate threshold is four times higher: AED 2,000,000, approximately $545,000.
Property encumbrance: a condition almost no one writes about
The UAE Golden Visa requires placing an encumbrance on the property, which lasts for the entire status period and prohibits disposing of the real estate until the end. The Dubai immigration authority's wording is direct: the property is encumbered to ensure continuous ownership for the entire period of golden residency.
From this follow three practical conclusions, which do not appear on any of the top ten Google search results:
- selling the property within ten years while retaining golden residency is impossible — the authority specifically states that the property cannot be disposed of during the entire ten-year period;
- the same rule applies to a bank deposit of AED 2,000,000: it is frozen for a minimum of two years, and withdrawing it during the ten years is prohibited;
- the encumbrance is placed through the Land Department procedure, meaning it is reflected in the registry and visible in any property check.
The difference between golden residency and the two-year ownership route is fundamental here. The two-year visa for property owners is also terminated if the property is sold, but no encumbrance is placed on the real estate: the owner can exit the transaction at any time, losing the status, not the right to dispose of it.
Practical conclusion. Ten-year status for real estate is an exchange of liquidity for duration of ownership. A buyer considering a property as a tool for resale in three or four years should not choose golden residency: the encumbrance will outlast the investment horizon.
New build or completed property: where the line is drawn
The UAE Golden Visa allows a property under construction, whereas the two-year ownership visa does not, because the short route is based on an ownership certificate. The boundary is not determined by price but by completion stage, and this inverts the familiar logic of "more expensive — stricter."
The mechanics are as follows. During construction in Dubai, a property is registered in the Oqood system — this is a registration of the purchase agreement, not ownership. A certificate is issued upon transfer of the property. The two-year route requires an electronic ownership certificate extract, and it cannot be replaced with payment documents; golden residency does not have this requirement.
For golden residency, the requirement for a minimum payment share was lifted by federal circular dated February 20, 2026: before this date, the applicant had to pay at least half the cost or at least AED 1,000,000. A buyer who paid 10% under a 10/90 payment plan for an apartment costing AED 2,500,000 did not qualify before February 2026, although the property was worth twice the threshold.
An honest disclaimer is needed here. The lists of documents on the current pages of both services — the Land Department and the immigration authority — as of September 3, 2026 still call for an ownership certificate and a departmental property status certificate; the Oqood certificate is not mentioned at all. The circular itself dated February 20, 2026 is not published by either authority. Therefore, we describe the applicability of a property under construction as established practice, confirmed by the removal of the payment requirement, rather than as a norm that can be cited with a reference to the service's page.
| Situation | Two-year | Ten-year |
|---|---|---|
| Completed property, AED 500,000, sole ownership | available | not available |
| Completed property, AED 2,000,000 | available | available |
| Property under construction, AED 2,000,000 | not available until transfer | available by practice as of February 2026 |
| Property under construction, AED 500,000 | not available | not available |
Two-year, five-year, and ten-year: three ownership routes
Three residence permit routes for property owners in Dubai differ not only in term but also in threshold, encumbrance, and what the family receives. All three are administered by the Land Department, and each has its own service page with its own fee schedule.
| Parameter | Owner (Taskeen) | Retiree | Golden (10 years) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Term | 2 years | 5 years | 10 years |
| Threshold | none with sole ownership | AED 1,000,000 (≈ €235,000) | AED 2,000,000 (≈ €470,000) |
| Share threshold in joint ownership | AED 400,000 | spouses aggregate one property | share from AED 2,000,000 |
| Age | no restrictions | from 55 years | no restrictions |
| Mortgage | allowed | paid amount AED 1,000,000 | allowed with bank letter |
| Property under construction | not suitable | not suitable | suitable by practice |
| Property encumbrance | no | no | applied |
| Parents | visa for 1 year | 5 years | 10 years |
| Certificate of good standing | required | not specified | not specified |
The five-year route is almost always overlooked in discussions, yet for an applicant aged 55 or older it is more advantageous than either neighbor: the threshold is half that of the ten-year route, no encumbrance is placed, and spouses can combine one property — this is not allowed with the ten-year route. There is one restriction: the property must be fully paid for, or the bank confirms that the paid amount cannot be released for three years.
We covered the elimination of the minimum property price for the two-year route in late April 2026 in a separate article — here it matters as context: the short route became more accessible at entry, but the requirement for completion stage did not change.
How much the UAE Golden Visa costs: fees by the official schedule
The UAE Golden Visa costs AED 9,884.75 by the Dubai Land Department's fee schedule — cheaper than the two-year owner visa, which costs AED 10,212.50. The amounts are taken from the authority's service pages, updated August 19, 2026.
| Item | Golden (10 years) | Retiree (5 years) | Owner (2 years) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical examination | AED 700 | AED 700 | included in total |
| Emirates ID | AED 1,153 | AED 653 | included in total |
| Residency confirmation | AED 2,856.75 | AED 2,456.75 | included in total |
| Land Department fee | AED 4,020 | AED 2,020 | included in total |
| Administrative fee | AED 1,155 | AED 1,155 | included in total |
| Total per applicant | AED 9,884.75 (≈ €2,322) | AED 6,984.75 (≈ €1,641) | AED 10,212.50 (≈ €2,399) |
| Cost per year of status | ≈ AED 988 | ≈ AED 1,397 | ≈ AED 5,106 |
The difference in annual cost is fivefold, and this results not from a benefit but from arithmetic: a fixed set of procedures is distributed over different time periods. Separately, the immigration authority charges its own fee for issuing the permit — AED 1,100 plus minor fees, with a note that the fee increases by AED 100 for each year beyond two.
A note about channels. The Land Department service center publishes different amounts for the two-year route than the main authority website; the amount is confirmed in the channel through which the application is submitted.
Family on golden residency: spouse, children, and parents
The UAE Golden Visa extends for ten years to a spouse, children, and parents, while the two-year owner route gives parents residency for only one year. This is the most underestimated part of the calculation: for a family, the difference between routes is measured not in percentages but in multiples.
| Who is sponsored | Golden (10 years) | Owner (2 years) |
|---|---|---|
| Spouse | AED 5,774.50 for 10 years | AED 7,382.25 for 2 years |
| Child under 18 | AED 5,774.50 for 10 years | AED 6,482.25 for 2 years |
| Son over 18 | AED 5,774.50 for 10 years | AED 7,182.25 for 1 year |
| Parents | AED 5,774.50 for 10 years | AED 8,882.25 for 1 year |
| Sponsorship file opening | AED 318.75 | AED 318.75 |
Converting to annual terms makes the picture clear: a parent on ten-year status costs approximately AED 577 per year, on the two-year route — AED 8,882 per year. The difference is fifteenfold and persists throughout the period: the short status requires reprocessing repeatedly, golden residency does not.
Documentation requirements for the family are the same for both routes: a certified marriage certificate, birth certificates for children, health insurance, a notarized consent from the father if the mother is the sponsor, and proof of marital status for daughters over 18. For parents, a certified statement of dependency confirmed by the consulate is additionally required.
How golden residency is processed: procedure, documents, and timelines
An application for golden residency is submitted in person and only within the country, and a decision takes from 5 to 10 business days. The procedure is described by the authorities step by step and is the same for all three ownership routes.
- Registration of ownership of the property and receipt of a certificate from the Land Department on its status and value.
- Submission of the package at an accredited center: passport, electronic property ownership extract, photograph, Emirates ID if available, copy of current residence visa.
- Payment of fees — by bank transfer, card, or cash.
- Medical examination at the same center.
- Application of encumbrance on the property through the Land Department procedure.
- Receiving the residency permit by email and obtaining the Emirates ID.
Two restrictions that most often derail plans. First: the applicant themselves must be present — companions are not allowed at submission, and representation by power of attorney is not provided for. Second: the applicant must be within the UAE, meaning documents cannot be submitted remotely from Russia or elsewhere.
The authorities publish different timelines: the immigration authority targets 5 business days, the Land Department — 7–10. We provide both and do not average them: these are the standards of different services for different parts of the procedure.
What ten-year status grants and does not grant
The UAE Golden Visa removes the 180-day rule and allows sponsoring family, but does not grant the right to work for an employer and does not create tax residency. Separating what is confirmed from what is not — below.
Confirmed:
- residence in the country for the full term of golden residency without a sponsor;
- no requirement to enter every 180 days: golden residency is cancelled only upon expiration of the term while outside the country;
- sponsorship of a spouse, children, and parents for the same term;
- issuance of Emirates ID and access to services requiring it;
- renewal if the basis for it persists.
Not confirmed:
- the right to work for an employer: employment requires a separate permit from the employer;
- tax residency in the UAE — it is determined by days present under a cabinet decision, not by possession of a visa;
- transition to permanent residency or citizenship by duration of ownership;
- preservation of status after disposal of the property;
- the right to dispose of the property during the status period.
A separate condition that the authority formulates as an obligation of the status holder: the ability to support oneself and one's family without state assistance. The service may verify compliance with these conditions throughout the entire period, not just at submission.
Myth: "the UAE Golden Visa for AED 100,000 is for life." The Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship officially refuted this scheme in summer 2025: applications for "nominated" golden residency with a fixed payment and lifetime term have no legal basis and were submitted without the consent of the authorities. The company spreading this information apologized publicly. The authority specifically noted that commercial intermediaries are not recognized as authorized submission channels.
Renewal of golden residency and preservation of basis
Ten-year UAE status is not renewed automatically: renewal is processed as a new verification of compliance with conditions, not as a continuation of the previous status. The basis must exist at the time of renewal in the same volume as it did when the status was issued.
What is checked for a property owner:
- the property remains in the applicant's ownership and is valued not below the threshold;
- the encumbrance remains in place and ownership has not been interrupted;
- the applicant has not lost the ability to support themselves and their family without state assistance;
- accompanying family members retain the basis for sponsorship.
The status terminates early if the property is disposed of or if the visa term expires while the holder is outside the UAE. The first basis is the only one dependent on the will of the status holder, and this is precisely why the encumbrance on the property should be viewed not as a formality but as the load-bearing structure of the entire status.
Why golden residency is denied and what to check in advance
Denials of UAE golden residency more often relate not to the transaction sum but to property valuation, form of ownership, and choice of intermediary. The threshold itself is rarely the reason: an applicant who has reached submission usually already meets it.
What is worth checking before submission:
- form of ownership. A share in joint ownership below AED 2,000,000 does not provide a basis, even if the property costs twice the threshold.
- property valuation. The threshold is confirmed by a Land Department certificate, not the contract price; a discrepancy between contract and confirmed value is a working situation.
- submission channel. The authority directly stated that commercial consultants are not authorized channels; a list of accredited centers is published by the immigration service.
- property stage. For the two-year and five-year routes, a property under construction is not suitable, regardless of price.
- mortgage. A bank letter is required stating the paid amount and absence of objections; without it, the package is incomplete.
Five years or ten: why sources disagree on the term of golden residency
The federal government portal of the UAE calls golden residency for real estate five-year, while the Dubai authorities that issue it call it ten-year. Both sources are official, both checked September 3, 2026, and the discrepancy concerns the most important parameter of the status.
What exactly is stated:
| Source | What is stated | Page update date |
|---|---|---|
| Federal government portal of the UAE | investment in real estate — 5 years; public investment — 10 years | 28.07.2026 |
| Dubai Land Department, service page | property from AED 2,000,000 — permit for 10 years with renewal | 19.08.2026 |
| Dubai immigration authority, service card | golden residency for investors in real estate and public investment — 10 years | 03.09.2026 |
How to read this. The permit is issued by the emirate, and both emirate services call the ten-year term; the issued document, judging from the service card, is also ten-year. The most likely explanation — one we have encountered twice before in this cycle — is that the summary table on the federal portal describes an earlier version of the rules and was not rebuilt after the change. We cannot state this as fact: no authority has published a clarification that would directly resolve the discrepancy.
The one and only practical conclusion is mundane: the term is confirmed not by the summary table but by the service card of the authority through which the application is submitted — and by a printout of that card on the submission date.
Comparison: UAE, Turkey, and European programs from the catalog
The UAE differs from European programs in that the status here is based on the property, not on the duration of residence, and terminates along with its sale. Comparison is therefore more accurate by structure than by threshold amount.
| Parameter | UAE Golden Residency | UAE Owner Visa | Turkish Citizenship |
|---|---|---|---|
| Threshold | AED 2,000,000 (≈ €470,000) | none with sole ownership | $400,000 |
| What the applicant gets | residence for 10 years | residence for 2 years | citizenship |
| Fate of the property | encumbered throughout the period | unrestricted | 3-year holding requirement |
| Property sale | status terminates | status terminates | status is preserved |
| Right to work | no without a permit | no without a permit | yes |
| Path to citizenship | absent | absent | citizenship immediately |
The UAE catalog as of September 3, 2026 includes [1,517 properties from €66,807](/uae/), with [1,333 in Dubai](/uae/dubai/), [1,336 apartments](/uae/apartments/) and [27 villas](/uae/villas/). A total of 929 properties meet the ten-year threshold of €470,000 and are listed in the collection of [properties qualifying for a residence permit in the UAE](/uae/residence-by-investment/); 853 are in Dubai. A total of 1,211 properties meet the five-year pensioner route with a threshold of approximately €235,000.
Data for Turkey is verified in the section on [citizenship by investment programs](/citizenship/), and the country's general catalog is in the section on [property in Turkey](/turkey/). A summary of residence permit thresholds for all countries, with the regulatory act cited for each entry, is in the section on [residence by investment](/residence/). Mortgage payments are calculated using the [mortgage calculator](/calculators/mortgage/), and property returns are calculated in the [rental yield calculator](/calculators/yield/).
Pros and cons of the Golden Visa for property buyers
The UAE Golden Visa offers the longest term of residence at the lowest annual fee, but freezes the property for the entire period. Assessment is based on criteria, not impressions.
Advantages:
- ten years of residence at an annual cost of about 988 dirhams—cheaper than any other route for property owners;
- a spouse, children and parents receive the same term, not one or two years;
- the 180-day rule does not apply;
- an under-construction property qualifies under current practice as of February 2026, including with installment plans and mortgages;
- fees are fixed and published by line item;
- there is no personal income tax in the UAE.
Disadvantages:
- the property is encumbered for the entire term of residence: selling means losing residency;
- the threshold for a share in joint ownership is not 400,000 but 2,000,000 dirhams—a purchase split equally between spouses does not qualify;
- you must apply in person and while in the country;
- the status does not lead to permanent residency or citizenship;
- the status does not grant the right to employment;
- the duration of the status is stated differently in federal and emirate sources.
How we verify data
The conditions of the UAE Golden Residency in this article are taken from the service cards of the agencies that issue it, not from summary reviews. Each figure has a source and a verification date.
| Item | Source | Verification date |
|---|---|---|
| Definition of status, term of 5 or 10 years, categories | UAE federal government portal, u.ae | September 3, 2026 |
| Threshold of 2,000,000 AED, property encumbrance, 180-day rule | Service card for "Golden residence permit (investors)," GDRFA Dubai | September 3, 2026 |
| Fees and documentation package for the ten-year route | Service page "Golden Visa application — Investor," Dubai Land Department | September 3, 2026 |
| Threshold of 1,000,000 AED and fees for the pensioner route | Service page "Golden Visa Application — Retiree," Dubai Land Department | September 3, 2026 |
| Threshold of 400,000 AED for a share and fees for the two-year route | Service page "Investor Residence Application (Taskeen)," Dubai Land Department | September 3, 2026 |
| Refutation of the "nomination" visa for 100,000 AED | Statement by the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship | September 3, 2026 |
| Exchange rate of the dirham to the euro and US dollar | Central Bank of Russia | September 3, 2026 |
| Turkey threshold | Section on [citizenship by investment](/citizenship/) on this website | July 27, 2026 |
We are a marketplace for overseas property with deal support, not an immigration consultant or an authorized submission channel. This material describes the rules as of the verification date and is not legal advice. The waiver of the down payment requirement for under-construction properties is described as established practice: the text of the federal circular from February 20, 2026 is not published by the agency. Before submitting, the conditions should be verified on the service card of the body through which the application is being filed.
Frequently asked questions about the UAE Golden Residency
How much does a UAE Golden Visa cost in 2026?
The processing fee is 9,884.75 dirhams, approximately €2,322 at the Central Bank rate on September 3, 2026. This covers only government fees; the investment in the property starting from 2,000,000 dirhams is separate.
How long is the Golden Visa for real estate valid?
The Dubai agencies that issue it cite a ten-year term. The summary table on the federal investment portal for real estate investments indicates five years; we have described this discrepancy in a separate section and recommend referring to the service card of the issuing body.
Can I apply for Golden Residency on an under-construction property?
Under current practice as of February 2026, yes, after the waiver of the requirement to pay half the cost. For the two-year and five-year routes, under-construction properties do not qualify: they require a title deed.
What happens to the property after obtaining Golden Residency?
The property is encumbered to ensure continuous ownership for the entire term of residence. You cannot sell the property while retaining residency.
Does a purchase split equally between spouses qualify?
No, if each spouse's share is below 2,000,000 dirhams. For the two-year route, the share threshold is 400,000 dirhams, and under the pensioner route, spouses can account for one property jointly.
Can I apply without traveling to the UAE?
No. The applicant must be in the country and present in person; application through a representative is not provided for.
Does the UAE Golden Visa grant the right to work?
No. Employment requires a separate permit issued by the employer.
Does a Golden Residency holder automatically become a UAE tax resident?
No. Tax residency is determined by days present and center of interest under a Cabinet decision, not by possession of a visa.
Is it true that a Golden Visa is available for 100,000 dirhams for life?
No. The Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship has officially refuted this scheme: it has no legal basis, and commercial intermediaries are not recognized as authorized submission channels.
What does Golden Residency provide to a family?
A spouse, children and parents receive residency for the same period—ten years. The fee for each is 5,774.50 dirhams, compared to 8,882.25 dirhams per parent on the two-year route, where parents are only approved for one year.



